5 Tips To Live a Happier Life

Hey, everyone! As most of you know, I’m a very positive person. I wasn’t always positive though, in fact I used to be extremely negative and never happy. However, one day I decided that I didn’t want to be like that anymore. I really just put in a lot of work to change the mindset I was in. So I put together the top 5 tricks to help me stay positive:

 

1. Write a list of 5 things that make you happy

I do this everyday. Sometimes all I write is “dogs, coffee, the color black, my friends, and sunshine,” and then sometimes it’s extremely detailed. But really once you start becoming grateful and focusing on things that make you happy it changes your mindset.

2. Smile

Yes, it’s cheesy and cliche. But it’s clinically proven to trick your brain into thinking you’re in a good mood. Some of the earliest work in the area was done by psychologist and “facial coding” expert Paul Ekman. He was experimenting with negative facial expressions like frowns. Ekman found that his mood seemed to change. In 1990 his research on other people showed that adopting a “Duchenne smile” (a full smile that involves facial muscles around the eyes) produced a change in brain activity that corresponded with a happier mood. Plus you look good smiling so you should probably smile more. (; [nice try Noah]

3. Start following positive things on social media

Okay, so I’m pretty sure at one point in all of our lives we have followed a sad quote page on instagram because we could “relate” with the depressing quotes. Now it wasn’t until a few months ago that I stopped and thought “wait, why am I following this? Why am I trying to relate to something that is in no way improving my life?” So then I started following accounts that were inspiring and motivating.

4. Go outside

Yes, I know that there are bugs and so many germs and gross things outside, but then again, there’s also sunshine, butterflies, flowers, waterfalls, trees, fresh air, and just so many great things!

5. Go pet puppies

Do I really need to explain this one?

 

I hope you guys can use some of these tips. If you have anymore tips comment them below!

Stay Brave friends ツ

~Michaela

One thought on “5 Tips To Live a Happier Life

Leave a Reply

