Security In Instagram Likes ||

“When did loving yourself become so rare, that it’s revolutionary to do so? “


When I read that quote on Tumblr the first thing that came to mind was finally someone said it. Loving myself is not really something I have a problem with. Haha in fact I love myself as much as Kanye loves Kanye. But hey guess what – It’s not a bad thing. Being confident in who you are is so amazing and if you are I am so proud of you!! And if you’re not confident in who you are I really hope that you learn to love and appreciate yourself, because let me tell you, when you learn to love yourself it is one of the most freeing things you’ll ever do.

I used to not like myself at all. I have a lot of hot older sisters, and friends that are so beautiful. I was constantly thinking “why am I not as beautiful as her?” or “why don’t I have a body like that?”. And then getting older and being like “oh how am I ever going to get a boyfriend if I can’t do my eyebrows like so and so. she’s obviously the better choice.” Guys those are some really silly things yes I know but I am almost certain that we have all thought things about ourselves that are untrue.

Last September I took the entire month off of Social Media. I found that I was getting insecure about the way my instagram feed looked and how many likes I was getting on pictures. I was literally putting my self-worth in how many likes I was getting. I would delete pictures if they didn’t get over 80 likes. I wouldn’t let my friends post a picture that I was in if I had bags under my eyes. I literally stopped talking to my friend for 2 weeks because she posted an unflattering picture of me (Hannah I’m sorry about that btw that was so silly). I didn’t like that I was getting so insecure in who I was because of some silly app. Taking the month off was really hard because I’m gonna be real with you guys, the first and last thing I did with my day was check my Snapchat and Instagram. Why was keeping the Snapchat fire alive being prioritized over keeping the fire in my heart for Jesus alive?

Honestly taking the month off of social media was one of the best decisions I made. I was so convicted about what I was finding my worth in. I dug deep into the word and realized that I shouldn’t be finding my worth in likes when the King of kings says Michaela, YOU  are more precious than rubies; nothing that anyone desires can compare with you. (Proverbs 3:15) He says that those instagram likes yeah those are deceptive, those filters guess what they’re fleeting but if you fear the Lord, yeah you are going to be praised. (Proverbs 31:30).  He keeps on telling me how worth it I am. When I feel incredibly anxious I am reminded by what the Prince of Peace says which is that He is within me and I will NOT fall; for he will help me at the break of day (Psalm 46:5). So why am I letting instagram define my worth when It says in the bible that I was clearly fearfully and wonderfully made? (Psalm 139:13-15).  Doesn’t make sense. I don’t find my confidence in worldly things, because if I do then I will constantly be let down.

To end this lengthy blog post I want to say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with loving yourself. Take that selfie that you feel good in and post it but promise me that you won’t find your self-worth in it because it will do nothing but destroy you. Be confident in you and remember that you are fearfully and wonderfully made.

Till next time

Stay Brave Friends,

~ Michaela

ps. I’m sure I there are a lot of grammatical mistakes in this so bear with me as I try to get better (;

One thought on “Security In Instagram Likes ||

Leave a Reply

