An Open Letter to 2016

Dear 2016,

You were the year of braces, getting grounded constantly, working nonstop, getting my temps, having the courage to quit my first job, taking pictures by blue walls. The year of geometry, the year of creating this blog. The year of the Cleveland Cavaliers winning the NBA championship. The year when the Indians made it to the World Series. The year Cleveland was no longer known as the “mistake by the lake.” You are the year of great discovery. The year of growth, hard work, and falling in love

Thank you for all the things you’ve taught me. Like how to walk away from situations that no longer benefit me and my future. Learning how to remove myself from those situations has been one of the biggest learning experiences.  Knowing how to deal with those situations and learning from them has helped me grow into the person I am now, and continuously growing into.

Thank you for being the year of developing mindsets and passions. I know what I want and how to make it tangible. Thank you for teaching me what it means to work hard for anything and everything I want. I made hella money and got that hella good GPA. Big dreams = big workload. I hope to never lose sight of that.

Thank you for being a year of finding a ton of cool new music. I will forever cherish the moments of driving at night downtown with Brynn and Caleb, the windows down, wind blowing obnoxiously making our hair all tangly, blasting our music and singing every lyric to the new Goody Grace and Gnash single. Those are the nights that made me realize how beautiful life really is.

Thank you for being the year that I fell in love with being alive. Thank you for giving me moments where life happened and I fell in love. God knows how hard this mindset was worked for. 

2016 you have been good to me. Thank you. 

Leave a Reply

