Spontaneous Thoughts For a New Year

Hello, friends! Happy new year! Time flies when you’re growing up, it’s kinda scary to be completely honest with you guys. Well anyways, I was just sitting in my bedroom, on my floor trying to think of something to write about when I looked at the list of the things I want to accomplish this year.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Today, I wrote my 2017 goals (yes, I know I am three days late, but better late than never right?!). They weren’t anything extreme, just the basic continue to get good grades in all my classes, read more books, volunteer more places, etc. Nothing super special really, but as I was thinking about it I was like well, why not just share my thoughts on all the things I hope 2017 holds? Enjoy my spontaneous hopes for 2017 (:

I hope 2017 is filled with laughter.

I hope 2017 is filled with laughter. Authentic laughter, loud laughter, and obnoxious laughter. The kind of laughter that makes people turn their heads when you and your squad are laughing so hard at McDonald’s when it’s 10 pm. The kind of laughter that comes from you and your best friend looking at pictures from middle school, laughing at how awkward you guys looked. I hope your 2017 is filled with laughing at 3 am with someone you love whether that being your significant other or a friend. I hope your laughter is contagious and when you’re feeling down that you will remember to laugh. I hope you enjoy every moment.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I hope 2017 is filled with passion.

I hope that all the passion you have will be pursued. I hope your passions are tangible. I hope this is the year that you are passionate to get back into reading books again, taking photographs, playing the guitar. Maybe you have always wanted to start a support group or even a group that talk about dogs.  Whatever it is, I hope you are fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire Find your passion and never lose sight of it.

I hope 2017 is the year that you do things that challenge you.

I hope that 2017 is the year that you decide to take that break from social media you have been wanting to do, or maybe going out to coffee with that one person you have a really hard time being around. I hope that you put your health first and make sure you’re healthy. Maybe that is quitting fast food or going on more walks. Maybe this is the year that you decide that you’re going to put down the blade and not pick it up again or it is trying out church again for the first time in years. Friends, I urge you to do something that challenges you. How will you ever grow if you stay in the same routine every day? In the words of Van Gogh “If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I hope that 2017 is the year filled with little things.

And just because Vincent Van Gogh is one of my favorites, I am gonna use another one of his quotes here, “Great things are done by a series of small things brought together” The little things like smiling more, paying for someone’s cup of coffee, asking that super cute boy/girl in your math class for their Snapchat. Or buying your mom flowers, writing a letter to a friend that went off to college, little things are brought together to become something great.  I hope 2017 is the year that you decide to be great.

In fact, I hope your 2017 is filled with mom jeans, marble journals, singing obnoxiously loud with the windows down while you and your friends are driving on the highway at night. I hope that you smile at strangers, post that selfie that you look flawless in #IWokeUpLikeDis. I hope that every single one of you falls in love with being alive if you are not already. I hope you guys got something from all my spontaneous hopes for this year.

With love,

Michaela ♥

spontaneous-thoughts-for-a-new-year

7 thoughts on “Spontaneous Thoughts For a New Year

Leave a Reply

